Logo
Gekko

Virtual User Meetings

Check out this page for upcoming virtual user meetings, video conferences and webinars. You don't need an account to join a meeting. Just click on the invitation links listed below and provide a nickname when prompted for it. You'll find instructions for the technical setup at the bottom of this page.

Scheduled Events

Open User Meeting Room

This room is open to all users 24/7 for meetings. You are able to share your screens, workflows and music, or just hang out and talk. Password for the room is 'Synfire'.

Time:
Tuesday 10. December 2019 12:00 CET
Tuesday 10 December 2019 11:00 am GMT (London)
Tuesday December 10, 2019 06:00 am EST (New York)
Tuesday December 10, 2019 03:00 am PST (California)
Tuesday December 10, 2019 10:00 pm AEDT (Australia)
Duration: 120 min
Host: Cognitone
Status: Scheduled

Enter Meeting Room

You can enter the meeting room now to test your setup or talk to others that are already there.

Making of a Cinematic Soundtrack

Ruchir will screenshare and describe his workflow on producing cinematic music using Synfire.

Time:
Monday 16. December 2019 19:15 CET
Monday 16 December 2019 06:15 pm GMT (London)
Monday December 16, 2019 01:15 pm EST (New York)
Monday December 16, 2019 10:15 am PST (California)
Tuesday December 17, 2019 05:15 am AEDT (Australia)
Duration: 60 min
Host: Ruchir Shah
Status: Scheduled


Setup

We are using the Zoom platform for virtual user meetings, video conferencing and webinars (https://zoom.us). Up to 100 attendees can participate without creating an account. All you need is a webcam and a microphone, which most Macs and PC laptops have already built in. Zoom is a widely trusted provider for corporate video communication, pretty much an industry standard. Their privacy policy meets European GDPO standards. The app is an easy install and happens to "just work" on macOS and Windows.

  1. Download and install the Zoom app.
  2. Verify that your cam and mic are working. A headset with a built-in microphone dramatically improves your experience, as your voice will be clear for all to understand and there will be no audio feedback (computers that come with a built-in cam usually don't have feedback issues, though).
  3. You don't need an account with Zoom to join a meeting as a guest. Just click on the invitation link or button and enter a nickname when prompted for it.

Cams

While you are welcome to participate without a cam via text chat only, it is a lot easier for speakers to talk to an audience that can be seen. Speaking to an array of black boxes can be quite confusing and distracting. Therefore we strongly recommend using a cam. In the app's preferences, you can select a virtual background to hide and replace the room behind you.

Screen Sharing

If you want to show your screen and music to the audience, click Share on the app's toolbar. Be sure to also tick [√] Share computer audio, so everyone can hear your music. On the Mac, you'll need to select CoreAudio: Zoom Audio Device for output in Audio & MIDI Setup of Synfire or HN. On Windows, you might want to try the VoiceMeeter utility app to mix your voice and music before they go into Zoom.

Language

Due to our global reach, the spoken language is mostly English, unless noted otherwise. However, it is perfectly fine to speak any other language that current users in the room agree upon.

Privacy

In order to protect the privacy of all attendees, unless noted otherwise, Cognitone will delete any recorded meetings within seven business days after the event.